东方购物广场 (O.P. Place)

Operating Hours

10:30 am - 7:30 pm, daily

东方购物广场是不但是采买古董的中心也具有历史性的地标。

漫步在文化创意区很容易发现几个隐藏版的历史建筑。文华东方酒店周围的区域暗示著该地区在19世纪中叶时为欧洲居民和游客的聚集地,旧东亚公司的总部、旧海关大楼法国大使馆都是典型的例子。东方购物广场也是其中的建筑之一,它是曼谷最早的几间百货公司。

东方购物广场隐密地藏在石龙军路的小巷弄内,很容易从主要的道路中错过。当您进入小巷内,欧洲新古典主义的风格在白色的建筑下完美展现。从西元1878年以来,这样的建筑结构几乎没有任何变化,当时被称为Falck及Beidek百货公司,由于外墙上的狮座梯形装饰被昵称“Hang Sing Toh”(狮子购物中心)。进入购物中心的大厅,您的视线将指向老式复古电梯,这个手动折叠门是的老电梯仍可以正常运作。大厅的墙上挂着一系列老曼谷的照片,无意间将东方购物广场摇身一变成为小型博物馆。东方购物广场完整保留过去的历史,因此在西元1982年被授予暹罗建筑师建筑保护协会奖。

今天,这个复合式空间仍拥有许多精品店,销售高端古董和收藏品,其他商品包括:文物、工艺品、家居装饰品、手工编织丝织品,定制家具、高级首饰等。让您利用一个下午的时间轻松地体验购物的乐趣。如果您担心古董的真实性,可以询问商品是否获得泰国美术部颁发的认可证书。

Explore Categories

Choose a category to explore

Choose a pier

Choose a type of venue

Choose an option

Choose a location

O.P. Place

Operating Hours

10:30 am - 7:30 pm, daily

O.P. Place is a historical landmark that befittingly acts as an antique hub.

Wander around the Creative District and you will stumble onto a few hidden historical gems. Clustered near the Mandarin Oriental are structures that hint heavily on the area’s past as a gathering place for European residents and visitors of mid-19th century Bangkok. The old East Asiatic Company’s headquarter, Old Customs House, and the French Embassy are prime examples. Rightfully on that list is O.P. Place, one of Bangkok’s first department stores.

Tucked in Charoenkrung Soi 38, O.P. Place is easily missed from the main artery of Charoenkrung. As you turn into the soi, the stately European neoclassical structure appears, white and immaculate. Almost unchanged since it was first constructed in 1878, the structure was known then as Falck and Beidek department store. Its nickname was “Hang Sing Toh”, translated to “lion mall”, due to the lionhead keystone decorations on the external walls. Enter into the lobby and you will be struck by the old elevator with manual accordion folding gate still in operation. A turn around the lobby floor reveals a series of photographs of old Bangkok on the walls with clear descriptions that inadvertently turns O.P. Place into a mini museum. In 1982, O.P. Place was awarded the Association of Siamese Architects Architectural Conservation Award for retaining so much of the past.

Today, the complex hosts many boutique shops selling high-end antiques and collectibles. Other goods include artifacts, handicrafts, home décor items, hand-woven silk, custom-made furniture, fine jewelry, and more. The relaxing atmosphere makes for a slow afternoon shopping trip. Should you find yourself worried about the antiques’ authenticity, you can inquire if the piece you are interested in has been issued with a certificate from Thailand’s Fine Arts Department.

Explore Categories

Choose a category to explore

Choose a pier

Choose a type of venue

Choose an option

Choose a location