曼谷老运河(Bangkok canals)

View map

Thonburi

Operating Hours

Varies by tour

曼谷运河区自成立以来,对城市的发展和文化意义重大。

 

即使曼谷有着「东方威尼斯」的称号,但套在现代的社会似乎并不太合适。尤其是当你想游览整个曼谷城市时,大多数运河标示不明显,旅客似乎选择搭乘汽车或轻轨列车,几乎不用到任何一条水路。那麽这些运河到底在哪裡?曼谷的运河和水路确实存在,有关单位并为此做了努力,致力于其发展。你会发现它们仍然出现在曼谷和周围的社区,造就了整个城市能有现今的样貌。

曼谷的运河系统可以追溯到西元1782年建城时,它们是主要的交通方式,运送食物和水源,且作为节日庆典活动的一部分,像是水灯节Loi Krathong等 。这代表重要的建筑,如市场和寺庙都建在河岸边,这影响了城市的发展和整体的佈局。随着道路、公路的建造,运河系统在泰国生活中的降低了当初的作用。建筑开始面向街道而不是水道,有些运河甚至填补铺成了道路。

虽然运河的相较过往似乎黯淡了许多,但仍可以窥见它们在昔日的日子裡如何运作,以及当它们是城市的主要命脉时,如何影响人们生活。虽然河东面的运河较少了,但吞武里西侧的运河仍然是一个相当密集的网络。安静的社区使用船隻为重要交通方式仍然存在。还有更真实非观光的小型水上市场和沿着运河的寺庙。为了达到这样的目的地一览最当地的生活方式,最好僱一艘长尾船私人游船。虽然它们不像街道那样忙碌,但运河在曼谷的历史中具有重要的意义。

 

 

 

Explore Categories

Choose a category to explore

Choose a pier

Choose a type of venue

Choose an option

Choose a location

Bangkok canals - Bangkok River

Bangkok canals

Location
View map

Thonburi

Operating Hours

Varies by tour

Bangkok canals hold much significance in the city's development and culture since its founding.

Bangkok’s moniker “Venice of the East” might not seem to ring true today, especially when it seems that most canals are not obvious as you make your way around the city. Cars and the BTS sky train take you where you want to go and there’s hardly a need to find a waterway. So where are they? Bangkok canals and waterways do exist and with some effort and intention, you may find still them serving some communities in and around Bangkok. These still offer insights into why the city is the way it is today.

The canals date back to the founding of the city in 1782 and were used as a means of transportation, as a source of food and water, as part of ceremonies such as that of Loi Krathong, and many other activities. This meant important structures, such as markets and temples, were built on the canal banks. This in turn influenced the development of the city and its layout. With the introduction of the automobile and roads, the role of the canal system in Thai life was significantly reduced. Buildings are constructed facing streets rather than waterways. Some canals have even been paved over to become streets.

While the future of canals seem dim, you can still catch a glimpse of how they functioned in days of yore and how life was like when they were the veins of the city. While canals east of the river are few and far between, the canals on the west side in Thonburi still form quite an extensive network. Quiet communities that make their way around by boats still exist. Some might still have smaller, more authentic floating markets and temples that face the canal. To get there, one might do well to hire a long tail boat. While they might not be as bustling as some streets, the canals hold much more significance in the the capital’s history.

Explore Categories

Choose a category to explore

Choose a pier

Choose a type of venue

Choose an option

Choose a location